Glutenfree Buckwheat Belgian Waffles

This is the recipe I have been making for myself a couple of times a month since I got my ultra-stupendous Belgian Wafflemaker. Here she is:

Waring Waffle Bot

And look how beautiful this waffle is! It’s healthy to boot, has crispy edges, tender interior, giant pockets to hold butter, syrup, or berries and yogurt in this case. (Click on the photo to see it larger, it’ll make you drool.)

BuckWhtWffl

This recipe involves soaking the flours again. For a better of understanding of why to soak your grains, seeds, nuts, and flours, read this, and this and possibly follow some of the links if you want more.


Make it, eat it.

Glutenfree Buckwheat Belgian Waffles

The soaking ingredients:

1 cup buckwheat flour*
1/2 cup almond flour**
1 TB coconut flour***
1/2 cup yogurt
1 cup warm (not hot) water

The rest of the deliciousness:
3 eggs
1/2 TB baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 – 3 TB melted butter
2 tsp vanilla****

12 to 24 hours before making your waffles, mix all of the soaking ingredients and leave covered on your countertop – do not refrigerate.

When you’re ready to make your waffles, add all the other ingredients to the soaked ingredients and mix well. I tend to sprinkle the baking powder and soda over the top of everything so it mixes in more easily since I can’t mix it in with the dry ingredients. I also sometimes pre-beat or whisk the eggs a little bit just for ease.

Pour the recommended amount into your waffle iron and prepare to be wafflified!

I get four (sometimes a bit more) 6.5 inch waffles on my awesome new Belgian wafflebot. Ok, I *wish* it was a wafflebot but it’s still a great waffle maker.


* I prefer Dakota Prairie Dark Buckwheat flour. They also have a Light Buckwheat flour which has a less strong buckwheat taste. Dakota Prairie flours in general have a finer mill than some of the other brands I can get locally. I was so ecstatic when I made these waffles with their flour and got much better results.

** I buy the Honeyville Almond flour. Again, it’s a better mill than others I have tried.

*** I have Tropical Traditions coconut flour. I haven’t tried any others. I like to add a bit for the fiber and for how it absorbs moisture but my tummy doesn’t let me add in larger amounts – moderation in coconut flour for me.

**** Leave out the vanilla for savory waffles that you can use as sandwich “bread”.

One response to “Glutenfree Buckwheat Belgian Waffles

  1. Pingback: Nourishing Buckwheat Almond Waffles | Welcome to Disaster Kitchen

Leave a Reply

